Kirti Manjrekar MD

Kirti Manjrekar MD

Program:

Combined Internal Medicine/ Pediatrics, Fourth-Year Resident

Originally from:

Mumbai India

School(s) attended:

  • Seth G.S. Medical College, King Edward Hospital, University of Mumbai, India.
  • Residency in Medical Pharmacology. T.N. Medical College, B.Y.L. Nair Charitable Hospital, University of Mumbai, India
  • Master’s degree in Pharmacy Care Administration, University of Georgia, Athens, Ga.

What brought you here to the U.S. and to Michigan?

Came to the US following my elder brother. I was working in the pharmaceutical industry in India. I came to the US for further education and to explore the world. I grew up in a very protected environment back at home,and I really needed to cross seven seas to be out on my own ;).

I left the industry to do something that would give me personal fulfillment, in addition to taking care of my bills and helping me give my child a better future.

I matched into the Med-Peds program. I love the faculty and I love my Med-Peds colleagues. The residents come from different parts of the world and I like the harmony.

Why did you choose your specialty?

I chose Med-Peds because it gives me the ideal training to be able to take care of patients from cradle to grave, and building strong and meaningful relationships with my patients.

Family fun facts:

Isha, my now more than little bundle of joy, just turned 4. My husband, Jiten, supported and encouraged me to follow my dreams. Aayee and Baba, my parents, live in India. Pankaj (my dear elder brother), my sister-in-law, nephew and niece live in New Jersey.

When you’re not working, what do you do for fun?

Take my daughter to museums, parks, beach, Huckleberry Railroad, Mackinaw Island; speaking with my parents back at home.

What do you love about Hurley and Michigan?

Hurley is a small, tightly knit place. People are friendly to work with. Michigan is beautiful.

What inspires you?

Watching people with:
- Passion for their work
- Excellence in their work
- Honesty
- Integrity
- Kindness
- Gandhi

What was your toughest challenge in achieving your goals - and how did you overcome it?

There were too many hurdles, but the most significant was to overcome the dilemma of quitting a good job and career path, to start all over again at a time which later turned out to be the most difficult time, given other ongoing life occurrences.

What do you miss most about home - and how do you keep in touch with family and friends there?

Parents, parents, parents. Grandmother. Family and friends. Food. Everything about home.

Phone. I travel once a year to meet my parents, no matter what.

Favorite movies?

Casblanca and Titanic.

Special talents & hobbies?

I used to play throwball and basketball in school.