Peds I PASS workshop 2018 DSCN3030 banner Drs Miran Gupta Amjad Ali Woodall 2
Amjad Ali FNU W

Amjad Ali

MD

Program:

Pediatrics, Graduating Class of 2021

Originally from:

Born in Kerala, India and grew up in Dammam, Saudi Arabia

Education:

Completed medical school from Wuhan University School of Medicine, Hubei , China

Why did you come to the U.S. – and to Michigan?

I came to the US in September 2017. "To be the best, you have to learn from the best." This was the primary motivating factor in my decision to move to the US. In order to help serve needy and underserved patients, it was imperative for me to equip myself with the best skills and knowledge. So I decided to follow the American dream and come to US. The first time I ever came to Michigan was during my interview at Hurley, and I immediately fell in love with the place. The warm and welcoming nature of the people of Michigan made me feel right at home. I had an immediate intuition that this is where I wanted to be, and I was tremendously excited when I came to know I was going to be spending the next 3 years of my life here. Michigan was always my number one choice, and now I'm excited to be part of the Hurley family.

Why did you choose your specialty?

Pediatrics was always what I wanted to pursue ever since I got into medical school. Coming from a big family and constantly being surrounded by kids, pediatrics was a natural choice, somewhere I felt right at home. The beauty of pediatrics is that we get to see the children grow and develop into adults who will shape the future. To be able to make a positive impact on the child's life and provide them with all the opportunities for them to achieve their dreams is truly a unique sense of fulfillment.

Family:

I come from a big family of 7, with my mom, dad, 4 brothers: 2 younger and 2 older than me, with me being the one in the middle!

When you’re not working, what do you do for fun?

I love soccer and I have been playing soccer ever since I was a kid. If I’m not playing soccer, I'd still be watching soccer, and supporting my team, Manchester City. I also love to watch movies from different countries all around the world which helps me understand and appreciate the diverse cultures all around the world. I also like to skate and ride around the city on my skateboard. I like to experiment my cooking skills from time to time and I like to learn a new languages as well.

What do you love about Hurley?

What I loved about Hurley was the sense of family and belonging I felt when I came. Hurley's ideals and commitment to patient care and well-being tremendously impressed me, and I knew this was what I would strive to incorporate in my career as well. Being in Mid-Michigan area, I can finally get to experience real snow and try my hand at snowboarding. Coming from a tropical beach area, where the temperature never drops below 770F, I'm really excited to experience my first snowy winter. And the people are so warm and welcoming here, so it feels good to be moving to Michigan and to Hurley.

What inspires you?

My parents.

What do you miss most about home?

The hardest part of being away from home is being away from family and seeing my nephews and nieces grow up. But thanks to the latest advancements, home is just a phone call away and I get to speak to family and watch the little ones through Skype. Now, Hurley is my home as well, and so I can truly say I'm home away from home, and I get to experience the best of both worlds.

Favorite film:

My favorite movie I watched so far was The Intouchables, which is French movie about a man who takes care of a paraplegic man.

Favorite quote:

"Service to others is the rent you pay for your room here on earth" by the [boxer] Mohammad Ali. We can live meaningful and purposeful lives by providing our skills to the less fortunate and giving them equal opportunity to succeed in life. Even something small, like an act of kindness such as a smile, can make huge difference on a person having a rough day.

Favourite soccer team:

Manchester City in the English Premier League

Favorite ways to keep work-life balance manageable:

I like to jump rope every day to keep fit and de-stress, talk to my family and friends regularly and play soccer whenever I get the time.